Tag Archives: california driving

What You Need To Know About the Distracted Driving Law in California

Using a cell phone while driving is a big public safety concern. Despite laws banning distracted driving, many people continue to talk on the phone or text while behind the wheel. It is vital to understand California’s laws on the issue so that you will not have to hire a traffic ticket attorney Los Angeles any time soon.

Mini Cooper Dream Car

Laws Dealing With Cell Phones

California has adopted laws banning the use of both cellular and hardwired car phones while the vehicle is in motion. However, drivers over the age of 18 may use a hands-free device or Bluetooth as long as it only requires the use of one ear. Teenagers younger than 18 cannot use any device even if it is hands-free. No one is allowed to text and drive.

Exceptions to California’s Laws

In some circumstances, you can use a cell phone while driving without needing to hire a traffic ticket lawyer San Francisco in the near future. For example, you can use a phone as long as you are on your own private property. You can make an emergency call while driving. Therefore, if you saw a building on fire, you could contact your local fire department to notify them.

Penalties for Breaking These Laws

The first time you get caught texting and driving will cost you a ticket worth $75. Subsequent offenses will increase the fine to $190. Additionally, since it is a moving violation, you will get points on your record. In the event you accumulate too many points, the state can suspend your driver’s license.

It is best to keep your phone far away from your eyes as possible when you drive. That person you need to text back can wait until you reach your destination. Anyone who does receive this traffic ticket needs to hire an attorney right away to maintain a clean driving record.